Example image
While browsing a forgotten shelf of children’s books in a community college library, my child discovered this book about communities. Originally published in 1967, the book has a positive message overall, and my child enjoyed reading the way it summarized human’s transition to more permanent cities. There is a strong emphasis on teamwork and the importance of the contribution of each individual.
Example image
Example image
The illustrations are engaging and have a fun pop of color.
Example image
However, there is an unmistakable belief that women’s roles are narrowly defined. The women are portrayed as having very specific, limited roles in the community. Later, I learned that the same author, Ruth Shaw Radlauer, wrote a pair of books in the 1950s called “Women at Work” and “Fathers at Work.” Though I haven’t read those books, I understand the careers of the women portrayed in her book are: librarian, ballet dancer, airline stewardess, nurse, piano teacher and beautician. Seeing that list reminds me of how much I hate the reinforced gender stereotypes of the Lego Friends sets. Similarly, the careers they portray as possibilities for girls are hauntingly similar to Radlauer’s book but also include themes of agriculture, equestrianism, wildlife animal rescue, and pop stardom.
Example image
Example image
Though I can appreciate the context of this book in the time period in which it was published, it still made me surprisingly angry. I am glad that we no longer talk about people in such narrowly defined possibilities. I am glad both my sons and daughters have many options for their futures.
Example image
Example image
Example image
I hope the cities of tomorrow will lend even more flexibility in the way each person can contribute to the community.